top of page

Graduate School in View

The search for the perfect graduate program, though not complete, metamorphosed as I collected data on different schools. Before joining McNair, law school seemed to be nothing more than an impossible dream, nor was I aware that achieving a master’s degree would be within reach. The circumstances under which I needed to find a correct fit included that the program be fully online, or within traveling distance from my home. To date, no relevant PhD program has met my current requirements. Even though law school was my original intention, once I started exploring options, it became clear that a few different master’s programs could provide a better outcome to my immediate career goals. Accreditation, length of program, and career path options became the determining factors of the following two program choices.


Natural Resources or Public Administration 


A Master of Natural Resources in Conservation and Leadership from UW-Stevens Point would have the ability to bridge my Associate of Applied Science degree in Landscape, Plant, and Turf Management with my Bachelor of Arts in Political Science, as well as include my experience as a substitute teacher. This one-year program is a safe choice, with a simplified application, and courses that appeal to my interests. A career path could include field work, as well as administering environmental education. I will apply for the spring 2025 program start date. Equally appealing, the Master of Public Policy Administration from Northwestern University has compelling courses and comes from a highly accredited school, but it requires a more complicated application process, and at least two-years for completion. This choice would give me indoor career options, such as a government position, or the possibility of teaching a political science course at a technical college. A requirement of an LSAT score delays submitting an application until the fall of 2025.


Law School


Two law schools in consideration are Case Western Law, fully online, and Mitchell Hamline, requiring partial commuting. These two programs require a considerable amount of planning, funding, and commitment for the future. Case Western Law School has a renowned juris doctor program converted to online format, that I believe would fit the requirements to succeed in an environmental law field. Though met with skepticism from my advisors, online law programs may become the ‘norm’ of the future as schools adapt to the exhaustive responsibilities of non-traditional students. My current priority, raising two busy teenagers, conclude the decision-making process to apply to the previously mentioned master’s programs.





 

11 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page